5 Steps to Making it Big

Each person is different, having their own set of rules, view, and ways of doing things. There is one common underlying factor though: They understand the process and steps of becoming great. Let me give you some of the most vital steps one takes into becoming a successful genius.

Step One: Organization and Planning

People who put their thoughts together and make a to-do list succeed in almost everything they prepare for. They write things down, and plan for the next hours, days, weeks, months, and years to come. Everything is broken down in a formal manner. For example, the first thing I do when I wake up every morning is write a list (in no particular order) of things that must be done for the whole entire day. This includes, but is not limited to: Homework, studying, gassing up, washing the car, eating at a certain time, buying a book, seeing the doctor, feeding the fish, walking the dog, and writing a blog :-). Then I re-list them by priority. I number the most important task #1 and then so on until i’m done with the list. The next thing I do is write how long each task will take right next to the task I will be doing. You know how long it will take to create a list like this? A strenuous and grueling 3 whole minutes. Think of all the time that saves! Don’t drive around arbitrarily to places that you need to go to because you remember those tasks from the night before. Imagine what kind of stressed you’d be bringing upon yourself. If you can’t do that or if you’re too lazy to do it…I’m sorry but you will not succeed in this demanding world. When I come home feeling accomplished about my tasks, I check on a list that I have been working on for a long time. That list is the list that contains the goals and plans I have for myself for the next week, month, year, and several years. On it are pictures of what I dream of having, such as a Lamborghini, Big house with a home theater and gym, and a picture of places I would like to travel. This keeps me motivated to do the things that I love to do that I know will work IF I put my heart and soul into it. Get into the habit of list-making.

Step Two: Vision

The place where I grew up had a lot of pool halls, and that’s where i’d go many times. You would see the old school pool hall junkies go up against new school. The young guy would come up, and he’d hit his first shot into a pocket and get all excited. I was the old school guy, and i’d just smirk in the corner to myself. Because I knew when I went up to the cue ball, I was going to set up my 1st shot, up to my 2nd shot, up to my 3rd shot, rock the table, and game over. You don’t necessarily need to know what you want to being doing exactly 5 to 10 years from now, but you know it’s going to take hard work, discipline, sacrifice, and committment. That’s what it’s all about. Don’t see yourself working on a certain project and hope it work out for a while, envision your venture working for your whole lifetime, and take the necessary steps to get there.

Step Three: Surround yourself with the Right People

My dad once told me, “Tell me who your friends are, and i’ll tell you who you are.” Makes sense doesn’t it? My friend Bill has a simple philosophy in making sure that he secures a successful future: He only hangs out with people similar to his goals and ambitions, or anyone who is more successful than he is who has been through thick and thin. If you aren’t worth his time, he won’t bother conversing with you. Now don’t be shady and not talk to long time friends because they want to be a civil engineer or serve in the army, but when it comes to financial and entrepreneurial advice, speak to the wise ones who’ve been in the game for a while and can offer you helpful tips in making your dream a reality. If you surround yourselves with party-goers all the time, don’t think you’re going to have that mental toughness and not give in to social gatherings. The temptation is out there no matter what, and if you want to assure yourself that your goal with come true, immerse yourself in success.

Step Four: Spend Below Your Means

If you really research this fact online, you’ll find out that 40% of Americans spend over their means. This isn’t surprising, everyone knows about the U.S. having consumer debt, cashing out of our home’s equity like a big ATM machine, and just simply trying to beat the Joneses. With that mindset, people are stressed out, and become knee deep in debt. Our economy is currently slowing down, and the subprime housing market is ripped to shreds. Robert Kiyosaki mentions in one of his books that there is good debt and bad debt. Bad debt is consumer debt: BMW’s, Ferragamo glasses, Gucci purses, Coach shoes, etc. The good debt is the debt you invest to make more money, whether it is a business, stocks, options, real estate, etc. Save your money! Don’t be another statistic on the verge of bankruptcy because you bought something you forgot about and threw away a day later. Don’t give in to peer-pressure because all your friends have the latest laptop or Nintendo Wii. When you go out to eat, you don’t need the 30 oz. Porterhouse Steak from Lawry’s. Try and substitute your most desired wants for something less expensive. The money you save will add up in the long run, and like Benjamin Franklin said, “A penny saved is a penny earned.” SAVE SAVE SAVE!   

Step 5: Stay Focused

You’ll find that the more that you get involved into your venture of choice, the more the path gets windy and you’ll find that you are by yourself. It is a hard road because at times the only cheerleader, the only supporter, the only person who believes in your work, is yourself. I have done much research on a certain business project and I wanted to pursue it, but when people asked me what I was doing, they either scoffed at me, or asked me tons of questions to check for the validity of my endeavor and see if it contained any faults. Now, maybe it could have had kinks, maybe it couldnt’ve. At least I tried. At least I had the audacity to go head on with the beast instead of waking up and watching cartoons all day. Don’t give in to negative comments. What you want to do probably hasn’t been done before, and it will probably be unique compared to the exisitng companies out there. The point is, don’t get distracted by your peers, because whatever you put in, you get out ten-fold. Remember that. Don’t let anyone get you down.

Explore posts in the same categories: Business Success

Leave a Reply

